Some observers say that police officers should be recruited from the communities where they work, so that they have local knowledge. Other people say that this is unnecessary, or even undesirable. Where do you stand on this debate? Is local knowledge essential in modern policing?

There is a widely discussed debate that police officers need to be hired from their local societies. Therefore, they can be more productive because of the regional knowledge hegemony. However, some might argue that it is not essential, and organisations which are responsible for employing police officers can ignore this property. To a certain point of view, it appears to me that choosing officers from their local communities might have countable benefits; even though the other statement may seem more plausible in the modern world where everyone has multiple abilities. This essay deals with the argument of both sides of this polemical issue and answers the questions.

On the one hand, those who are in favour of this topic express their reasons cogently. First of all, they believe that residents probably are aware of the variety of crimes in that area, especially minutiae ones, and since they feel more sensitive toward their surroundings, if officers are employed from that locations, they tend to be more deterrent than others. This can be done through sentencing, imprisonment, fines, and even rehabilitation of the offenders. Moreover, in this case, informants, who are local dwellers, can help them to do their bests.

On the other hand, in today’s developed world, due to the wide range of technology, criminals in comparison to the past are more devious and deceive their victims by means of various methods. So, only the local information is not sufficient to overcome wrongdoing. Hence, it is logical to declare that police officers need to have transferable skills like lateral thinking, and also they should be connoisseur while doing their duties. Furthermore, choosing officers from different points of the country diminishes the issue of over-familiarity and corruption which are widespread issues and real impediments in dealing with errors

In conclusion, while local individuals appear to be felicitous options for a policeman in domestic situations, I would like to assert that it is not the only requirement for volunteers. They have to contain other essential skills like critical thinking to conquer the hardships of the modern world.