Some observers say that police officer should be recruited from the communities where they work so that they have local knowledge. Other people say that this is unnecessary, or even undesirable. Where do you stand on this debate? Is local knowledge essential in modern policing?

Needless to say that the role of police in societies is paramount important. Notwithstanding, according to some, it is a desideratum that the police workforce should be a local resident in the proximity where they dwell. Others put forward that having this feature for police is of no avail or even makes the situation exacerbate. I clearly go for the first credence, and in the following, both facets will be discussed succinctly.

On the one hand, those who are the proponents of the first notion aver that should a person have an acquaintance with the local area, they can go very well with the local people if a situation comes to the worst. Accordingly, the raised problems would tend to be settled down in a tranquilized milieu in lieu of breaking out a fracas. For example, local police are familiar with the behavior of each person living in that district; therefore, they know how to communicate and socialize with people in each quarter. Moreover, such policies as they have brought up in the community are familiar with the rendezvous of malefactors, intuitively giving rise to acting on them successfully.

Meanwhile, those who are the advocators of the latter credence maintain that having local knowledge is no use, or even in some issue makes it worsen. Firstly, the taken up police might have a personal problem with a local person, and now they come up to retaliate. In this situation, as bestowed a plethora of power, they can effortlessly bring dire tribulation to revenge, which is undesirable considerably. Secondly, after a while, a person who is not a local denizen can get accustomed to the area, imbibing with all walks of life governing in the area where they are consigned. To this end, it is unnecessary to hire up police with local knowledge.

To briefly recapitulate, I single out the notion mentioned in the first paragraph. And the essay can be boiled down to two items: (1) local forces are familiar with districts and the behavior of people living in each neighborhood area. (2) After hiring, some police are going to take revenge because of having a problem with some persons previously, as well as polices from outside of the area can adapt themselves with medium immediately.