Some observers say that police officers should be recruited from the communities where they work so that they have local knowledge. Other people say that this is unnecessary, or even undesirable.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Criminals today have become more and more devious and creative, so the need for trustworthy police officers is paramount. That is why there is an opinion from some people that the police should be locally hired; nevertheless, others and I opine that this method is not always a good option when it comes to crime deterrence.

Some supporters claim it is crucial that local recruitment should be carried out, for this types of police officers would firstly know the locale in minute details, which is true indeed. Every community has certain social, political and religious settings. The indigenous officers would be fully aware of the criminals’ backgrounds and anticipate the crimes possibly committed. Thus the result could be of more successful percentage as compared to that of the law enforcers from another place. The second worthy element is that the local police more easily gain valuable information from many sources, leading to more potent evidence and higher conviction rates at trials. This would contribute a lot to bringing perpetrators to light, making them pay the price for what they have done. For the two justifications, the idea of local recruitment may sound perfectly ideal.

However, from my own perspective, I agree that it is truly challenging and sometimes problematic in the battle against crime if law enforcement members are recruited from the local community. For starters, those officers are malleable to bribery whereby illegal activities could be safely concealed at any time. In the long run, this occurrence threatens the sake of the micro-community in particular and the general community as a whole. For example, the crime rate in Hong Kong was reportedly low during the 80s; nonetheless, inhabitants’ lives were still at risk due to malicious criminals. After an in-depth investigation from the Governmental Police Department, it was revealed that most police officers in this city were culprits of these offenders by receiving dirty money per illegitimate business. The final point is that if the police officers are native to an area, then their professional skills are not frequently mastered, which is a waste of training. In other words, the set of necessary abilities such as critical thinking, investigative analysis, resulting synthesis and any other abilities learned from the Police Academy could not be often employed, and eventually fall into oblivion. They are accustomed to the locale, so this would imperceptibly create a comfort zone which is hard to get out of.

In conclusion, the conception of accepting local police may appear impeccably good the first time, but it may trigger bad outcomes afterwards. I think the combination of native and non-native officers would be a balanced option for crime prevention in every single society.