Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Like two sides of a coin, people have always discussed whether attire or the work quality is important. Though I will highlight points pertaining to both the views i believe that both the aspects are important.

Firstly, people would often judge others based on the looks and the dress that is worn by others. A person's attire speaks for them. In this competitive world impression plays a crucial role in getting ahead in our carrier. For instance, my uncle who runs a business always dresses in a formal way as there can be numerous meeting with clients that are fixed up in the last minute. Since he has learnt from his experience, he always suggests us to dress up in a similar manner.

Secondly, A person is recruited for the quality he possesses and that they command a great respect for themselves by showcasing their talents and qualities. It is quiet often that such people reach a high position in an organisation quite easily with their talents. For Instance, In my old organisation a young person was recruited as by boss because he had passed out from IIM. Though he was a fresher the quality of education helped him get that position.

To conclude, Since talented and well educated people climb up the corporate ladder quite easily, it is even more important for them to dress smartly as they can be an inspiration for others. The above points substantiate my views that a smart dress and quality of work go hand in hand.