Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Employees of some companies are required to follow certain rules about clothing and appearance. However, others signify the productivity of the workers rather than their style. Both sides have valid opinions which will be discussed in this essay.

Certain institutions demand their workers to follow dress code and establish punishment systems for those who do not dress smartly. This might be due to the widespread prominence of the organization. Some prestigious fashion companies such as "Chanel" or "Vogue" make their employees follow the discipline and dress up only formal clothes in the workplace. Furthermore, others consider formal clothing as a method of attracting more customers. The clients of the organization might assume that if the workers are dressed formally, they follow strict rules. Thus, they provide customers with better service. Lastly, some authoritative managers of the organization might consider getting the employees to wear formal clothes as a means of having more control over the workers.

However, according to the experience of certain institutions, giving employees freedom of choice over what to wear enhances their productivity. Casual clothes allow people to have more convenience and in turn, increases creativity. For this reason, majority of European companies allow their workers to wear informal clothes in the workplace as they focus on to achieve top levels of efficiency. For the sole purpose of making the company more successful, managers allow the workers to wear casual clothes with the help of which they can achieve peak productivity.

In conclusion, by means of establishing dress codes and charging those who break the rule, companies can have more control over the workers. However, to have a steep progress managers should allow employees to wear convenient clothes where they can perform better.