SOME PARENTS BELIEVE THAT LEARNING MATHEMATICS AT SCHOOL IS REDUNDANT AND SHOULD
NOT BE TAUGHT WHILE OTHERS BELIEVE THAT IT SHOULD REMAIN A FOUNDATION SUBJECT WHETHER OR NOT IT IS USED LATER IN LIFE.
DISCUSS BOTH SIDES.
Whether or not to teach mathematics at school is becoming increasingly controversial, while some parents think that
learning mathemetics is no longer relevant, other parents maintain that it is an important subject. This essay will
discuss both sides of the argument in depth.
There are growing number of parents who believe that mathematics should be removed as a school subject because it has
become unimportant. They have reason to believe that mathematics is no longer needed as a human skill as it is now
typically done by computers. Everything from simple addition and sustraction to complex mathematical equations are
now computer operations. These parents believe that mathematics is no longer relevant subject in school.
In contrast to parents who wish to remove mathematics as a school subject are those who believe that it is a
fundamental part of learning despite its usefullness. After all, mathematics provides people with a different
conceptual way to view the world. For instance, knowing how to albeit and other calculations that can be done on a
phone, are essential daily skills. For these reasons, there are a number of parents who believe mathematic should
remain.
Should mathematics be removed from a schools syllabus? a number of parents think that it os outdated and therefore,
redundant. Others disagree and think that it is still prominent. This essay discussed the various reasons why
parents hold these point of view and whether it should remain a part of school students.