Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life.

Nowadays teaching mathematics at school is an increasingly controversial matter. Few of the parents argue that it is a waste of time learning mathematics at school while others have an opinion that it is one of the core subjects and should not be removed from the syllabus. This essay will discuss both arguments in-depth.

There are a growing number of parents who believe that mathematics should be removed from the syllabus as it is unimportant these days. They have the reason to believe that mathematics is no longer the part of life skills as it is now typically done by computers. Many children in the future barely use these skills in their job. From simple additions and subtraction to complex mathematical equations, everything has become computer operations now. Hence, these parents have a good reason to believe that studying mathematics is no longer relevant.

Another group of parents believes that mathematics should be a fundamental part of learning despite its usefulness. After all, mathematics provides people with a different conceptual way to view the world. For instance, knowing how to add, subtract, divide and do other calculations which can be done on a phone, are essential daily skills. For these reasons, there are a number of parents believe that mathematics should be the part of the curriculum.

Teaching mathematics at school is becoming a matter of debate among parents. While some of them believe it is no longer relevant, others demand it should remain as a foundational subject. This essay has discussed the various reasons why parents hold these points of view and whether mathematics should remain as a subject in school studies.