Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of time for children and they think that their children should only read serious educational books. What is your opinion?

In today’s world, there is a public debate regarding the type of books which children should read. Many parents think that reading books for entertainment is time-wasting for children. Instead of reading this sort of book, they should only read serious educational books. From my perspective, I remain unconvinced with this view because of the merits of reading books regarding entertainment.

To begin with, it cannot be denied that in this day and age, there are many non-sense entertaining books for children published. To put it in another way, these books cannot bring any benefits for children. For instance, the comics about Crayon Shin-Chan, which are meaningless and cannot help children learn any beneficial things from these stories. For this reason, reading books like that is a waste of time.

On the other hand, one convincing explanation in support of encouraging children reading entertaining books is that this kind of books might have a positive influence on their study. To clarify, they can have a chance to expose themselves to the common words used at school when reading these books. This is shown by the following example. In a personal and published study of over 1,000 comics and their inclusion of higher-order words, most comic books and graphic novels featured an astonishing 36% -76% of their text as representative of language found in senior secondary school and college placement tests. As a result, it is undisputed that reading books in regard to amusement brings many good sides for children’s study.

Taking everything into consideration, it may be concluded that there are many plus sides which reading entertaining books, apart from the nonsensical, can bring to children. Consequently, I am of the view that children should read not only educational books but also those related to relaxation.