Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

It is true that some parents tend to spoil their children too much by giving them everything they want. Personally, I hold a firm belief that this is not a good parenting style, which can lead to several negative effects on the behavioral and personality development of their children when they grow up.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why parents should not adopt this way of upbringing. Firstly, if parents fulfill all their children’s demands, they will get used to this and do whatever they want outside. This means that children still keep this behavior in class when they interact with their peers, which makes them difficult to adapt to their surrounding environment and leads to a lack of social skills. Secondly, children would lack respect towards their older relatives including their parents due to getting familiar with doing whatever they want. They do not follow a strict rule and obey their older family members.

As a result, this parenting style would exert some detrimental effects on their children. One of the major consequences is that this is more likely to contribute negatively to shaping their personality during childhood and teenage years. In fact, they would behave more aggressively and improperly to their surrounding people. This could lead some unpleasant experiences occurring in their process of maturity such as violent actions including hitting their classmates when it comes to argument. Another possible effect would be they are less likely to become good members of the society in the future. Due to the fact that they get used to having whatever they want, they would fail to control their negative emotions such as anger, which could be a contributing factor to committing a crime in some cases.

In conclusion, it seems to me that lenient parents should change the way they educate and nourish their children unless they want their children to become negative parts of the community in the future.