It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is generally believed that due to the rapid development of technology, traditions and cultures will be disappeared in a near future; so, technology and traditional cultures cannot exist together. Personally, I strongly disagree with this point of view due to several convincing reasons.

First, in the age of industrialized revolution, modern technology has replaced gradually skilled craftsmen in terms of handicraft manufacture. Mass production in factories has allowed companies to produce millions of traditional stuffs within a few hours, compared to a few weeks or even a month to finish a refined item in the past. For instance, people can easily wear a similar costume of their country produced in a mass-production factory. This would assist the spread of tradition of a nation more rapidly to every corner of the world.

Second, modern technology facilitates the process of regular repair and maintenance of traditional buildings. A wide range of technology machine is employed to assist workers and architects to renovate or do some frequent check to protect these historical buildings which are regarded as a part of heritage of a nation or a local place. This action would represent a combination of the use of modern technology and the value of traditional cultures to promote the beauty of a nation to people all over the world.

In conclusion, even though modern technology could exert some negative effects on the long-term existence of traditional cultures, I still hold a firm belief that these different fields complement each other, which contributes positively to the development of a nation as a whole.