Some parents prefer to have their children be raised by their grandparents. Some prefer to raise them on their own. Which would you prefer and why? Include specific details and examples to support your choice.

There is no doubt that children often develop as better humans under the love and supervision of the whole family. While few parents choose to groom their children under their influence, others argue that grandparents should also be involved in raising them. I do not completely agree with these views and would support my explanation with relevant examples.

On the one hand, children who are brought up by their parents tend to accomplish much in life. This is because parents are from the modern era which helps them understand the needs and priorities of their young ones. For example, a study by the UK news channel reported that the group of children under the supervision of parents turned out to be more focussed and obedient. As a result, they excelled in different dimensions of life. However, over-discipline may also work adversely for children, because they need a stress free, joyful environment for their overall growth and development.

On the other hand, those who receive love and affection of grandparents are the blessed ones. The reason is that these aged people have seen many ups and downs in life, which make them value and pamper their grandchildren. For instance, I was fortunate to have my grandparent’s love and attention, which made me realize the importance of family. In contrast, excessive pampering may turn kids into an unreasonable and stubborn person, that is why they also need parent’s strict monitoring, which in turn lead them to a path of success. Another interesting observation is that, whether a child is under the supervision of parents or grandparents, a number of diverse environmental factors also play a crucial role in their neuro-cognitive development.

In conclusion, while children grow as more confident and focussed individuals under the guidance of parents, I believe they also need the right amount of love and care from grandparents that would develop them into a balanced human being.