In some parts of the world, it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In several countries, people are becoming increasingly keen to learn about the history of their family. While this trend can be negative to some extent, I would argue that it is a positive trend.

To begin with, there are some reasons why people consider this trend as a negative trend. Firstly, since it takes a lot of time and money to research family history, people have less time for other important areas. For example, instead of research family history, they can spend more time to learn other foreign languages which leads to easier job opportunities. Secondly, the information on the history of a family may have adverse effects on their attitude in life. For instance, a person with a noble may become arrogant, while someone who is a descendant of a criminal might be ashamed and lose his confidence.

However, I would argue that this trend is positive because of some reasons. Firstly, since spending time researching their family, people might have knowledge about genetically inheritable medical conditions such as asthma, obesity, and diabetes. As a result, they can have a better treatment direction. Secondly, because, since individuals learn about their history, they might expand their knowledge about their family traditions. Therefore, cohesion among the members is enhanced.

In conclusion, researching family history is more common in society, and I believe this is a positive development.