Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.

Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

Violent crime is extremely dangerous because it can directly affect on human life. There is a lot of controversy over which sanctions to apply to violent crimes in contemporary society. Some people believe that death penalty is the reasonable punishment, while others oppose it. In my opinion, putting capital punishment for violent crime into practise has not only advantages but also drawbacks.

On the one hand, death penalty is the most effective warning method for other criminal. Most of people afraid of death, therefore, criminals need to reconsider carefully before deciding to commit a sin, if not, they have to pay a high price for this. Applying this punishment may deter people from committing violent crime. Besides, it also helps prevent the possibility of continuing the crime after the offender have released from prison or probation. In 2018, the recidivism rate after special amnesty in Vietnam is 1.16%, so that capital punishment can lessen this number. Furthermore, for victim’s family, especially homicide victim, executing penalty creates a psychological balance for them. Revenge from those who bear serious suffer can be another violent crime, so death penalty is perhaps the most effective way in this situation.

On the other hand, the application of the death penalty can also create several disadvantages. Firstly, criminals can be a law unto themselves because every criminal have the same penalty even if the crime is serious or not. Based on the figure of Death Penalty Information Centre (DPIC), the murder rates in America increase in death penalty states, and is lower in where without capital punishment. The law is so strict that can cause fierce opposition. Then, death penalty is not fair for violent misdemeanour criminal. It can be the reason for social discontent because these criminals need to have an opportunity to improve their behaviour. Violent crimes is a wide definition, therefore, if a violent husband or bank robbers is decided to have this punishment, this situation can become unreasonable. Moreover, children can also be executed if the government applies this law for all delinquents. Some of them may be under the age of the person who has liability, so the government ought to reconsider when applying this law.

In conclusion, death penalty can brings benefits, and also can cause bad sides in several cases when punishing violent crimes. Personally, I believe that death penalty is the effective chastise in serious crimes. Therefore, finding the way how to define this kind of seriousness is difficult. I think that the government ought to consider carefully in the measure of seriousness in crime so that they can apply capital punishment in exact situation or crime.