Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

Many people hold the view that capital punishment should be abolished because it is a cruel and unusual punishment while others maintain that this is necessary for a better society. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and offer my opinion.

On the one hand, it is clear that capital punishment would bring about a number of advantages. First and foremost, one of the main upsides of death penalty is that it deters criminals from murdering. For instance, numerous studies in the USA show a noticeable drop in murder rate in the months directly following any execution. Secondly, use of the death punishment prevents murders from killing again. Serial killers who are hardened as to be incapable of reform should be removed permanently from society before he or she continues to kill other innocent people.

On the other hand, death penalty can be considered unacceptable because of several reasons. Firstly, one of the biggest downsides of capital punishment is that it infringes human rights. Particularly, we have no rights to put someone to death, no matter what the crime is. Another disadvantage of death punishment is that innocent people can be killed of unfair sentence. A single mistaken execution of an innocent person, among no matter many thousands of cases, is enough to destroy our trust in the death penalty and in any judicial system that uses it.

From what has been discussed above, we may draw a conclusion that while capital punishment has a range of drawbacks such as violating human rights and unfair executions of guiltless people, it brings a number of merits: deterrent of major crimes and prevention of re-offending killers. After the final analysis, my own view is that the advantages of death penalty may outweigh its disadvantages.