Some people that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, people have more alternatives when it comes to university subjects. According to some, students should have an opportunity to choose what they would like to study, as they will not only enjoy studying but also will do better if they are interested in the subject. And there may be some merit in this view. Yet, in what follows it will be argued that, even though many don’t agree, students need to concentrate on subjects that will later be helpful in their future job, since they will have more time to gain profound knowledge about their profession and will be highly competitive in the job market.

university students ought to learn only professional subjects, as this way more time can be left for studying useful materials and students can have a successful career. it is obvious that everyone is facing the issue of time management during university life. studying subjects that are only satisfying might be time-consuming. For instance, during my medical studies, I only had time to master my study materials, and being engaged in any other activities distracted my schedule. Moreover, by having mandatory classes at universities, one will be able to have a clear idea about her future tasks during work. Therefore, it will be easier to integrate into the job after graduation.

On the other hand, others believe that students need to have options to study what they like.

Firstly, studies are not only about responsibility, one should take pleasure while learning something. this will encourage students to study more properly. Secondly, students apply themselves more when they enjoy learning. many studies have shown that students get high grades from their elective subjects.

In conclusion, it was demonstrated that universities should emphasize academic subjects, as students can have enough time to learn them thoroughly and have a prosperous career. though some argue that students should be allowed to learn their preferred subjects, since that can be fulfilled from studying and perform academically well.