some people argue that government should spend money on public services and facilities, but not on arts. do you agree or disagree?

The role of arts in modern life is unique, providing people with entertainment and yielding various psychological rewards, such as relief of stress. Despite these benefits, arts have been taken as luxury goods in many cases. It is suggested that public money should be concentrated in projects like public facilities, which are more likely to bring immediate benefits to the public. There are a number of facts indicating that this position is correct.

Public facilities, widely accepted as the main precursor of a city’s development, should be one of the highest priorities. Those underdeveloped cities in particular, should spend sufficient funding on public facilities. For example, municipal office, courthouses and post offices for public services, libraries, hospitals and playing fields for social and cultural activities. By boosting spending on public facilities, cities are able to satisfy the needs of the citizens and improve their standard of living.

In addition to social benefits, an integrated transport network is essential promises the smooth and speedy movement of goods and people in a city. Industrial and agricultural products of a city can be delivered to other cities in exchange to ensure steady income. It is no exaggeration to say that entrepreneurs will first examine the infrastructure of a city before deciding to start their business there.

The arts, although it provide psychological rewards, do not merit government funding. The first reason is that the arts – referring to music, film and literature altogether – are more likely to attract the investment of private sector than public facilities. Business-people will continue to invest in arts in the expectation of earning lump sum income. Meanwhile, the art is naturally pass down from generation to another . unlike public facilities, they require money to survive.

It is therefore clear that construction of public facilities should be given the foremost consideration. The concern about the well-being of individual citizens is of importance rather than arts, some thing that business have a stake in.