Some people argue that technological advancements, particularly in the field of artificial intelligence, will eventually lead to widespread unemployment as machines and robots take over jobs. Others believe that these advancements will create new job opportunities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is sometimes argued that advances in technologies, particularly artificial intelligence, will result in a scenerio, where countless jobs are at stake due to the dominance of machines and robots. However, other people hold the opposing view that these positive transformations will open doors to more job opportunities. This essay will first closely examine both viewpoints before concluding that I agree with the latter.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people advocate the obsolescence of jobs on account of AI. Perhaps the chief rational would be that AI can perform, countless human tasks. For example, many businesses in Vietnam are adopting chatbots, based on the development of artificial intelligence, acting as customer service agents. Buyers can easily communicate with them to know more about the products or even problems they are having with what they have purchased. These inquiries can be effectively tackled by AI, which is harder for humans to do so. That can also be said about other jobs requiring repetition such as data entry, routine manufacturing and assembly, and automated testing in software development. However, proponents of this perspective fail to factor in other fields that demand human qualities, creativity, emotional intelligence, or complex decision-making. They, of course, cannot work as therapist, whose jobs require mutual understanding between patients and doctors despite its advancements.

On the other hand, I side with those who advocate the idea of AI opening up a world of job opportunities. When AI become increasingly thriving in the world, entirely new jobs and industries are created as a result. These jobs related to AI may include AI specialists, who are knowledgeable about how AI works and funtions; data scientists, who analyze and interpret complex sets of information to help organizations make informed decision. Aside from this, as AI advances, jobs requiring people to maintain, enhance the artificial intelligence system to make it more effective in functioning. This, as a result, would generally improve users’ experiences, leading to more satisfied results. In light of the unprecedented development of AI, people nowadays need training AI-related skills such as how to ask them for help, how to utilize to make it a powerful tool for education. That is the reason why jobs like AI trainers, AI explainability specialists, and AI safety engineers are brought into being. Given these factors, the belief that AI will create more job opportunities seem perfectly justifiable.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for extolling the idea of AI rendering many jobs obsolete, I would contend that AI bring about jobs is generally more appealing, considering its inability to perform job concerning human qualities and real-life jobs created by the proliferation of robots and machines.