Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a recent debate about the extent to which children should be trusted to make their own choices on everyday matters. While parents often contend that allowing their offspring to decide on their owns will induce them to be more selfish in adulthood, I am of the opinion that this trend is positive since it helps to create an independent generation.

On one side of the argument, letting kids develop decision-making skills is disadvantageous as this would cultivate in a sense of selfishness in the future. It is obvious that children who are given excessive freedom are likely to make choices that are most beneficial for themselves. For instance, if parents allow their children to freely buy whatever they want, the majority of them will not concern of their parents' budget and choose their favorite treats, even if they are extremely expensive. This will place a huge financial burden on parents when their offspring inexorably think about their own wishes.

On the other hand, it seems to me that it is better to teaching kids to become accustomed to decision-making. Firstly, this would allow children to grow up into a mature and self-reliant individual. For example, if parents decide to do all the chores without letting their kids' help, it is likely that the children will meet difficulties in housework when moving out. In addition, kids deserve freedom as they are all living beings. They have the rights to freely decide their hobbies, schools, majors and occupations, not to be smothered with attention.

In conclusion, nurturing children's decision-making skills is advantageous as it motivates their independence and freedom. However, parents should lend them a hand to make the most effective and desirable choices.