Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters(such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

People have different views on whether teenagers are given the freedom to make decisions. While I accept that choosing items on their own may have a potentially harmful impact on them, I believe that there are more likely to have a positive return in the long-term.

There are various reasons why people forbid children to make a decision on their own preferences. Firstly, they may assert that teenagers are lack moral judgment ability that they would accept and copy the ideas from mass media easily. For example, some negative figures in our society promote ideas of appearance and glamorous. Children would have the wrong illusion that attending a party and dressing well is the key to having a successful life. Secondly, students from elementary school cognitive levels are not developed well and they might underrate the potential impact of their favorite. For stance, junk food is the most popular snack in the eye of children, which has adverse effects on our bodies.

Despite the above arguments, I believe that allowing children to develop the skill of making choices. In the first place, there are various life tasks that they have to learn and experience in the whole life, such as making friends, preparing meals, and selecting subjects. After graduating from high school, they even have to decide whether to develop their career or take an undergraduate course at the university. A mature adult should have the ability to maintain their own living, without other's support. If parents restricted their opportunity to experience, they would eventually have no personal self-care ability.

In conclusion, although it might seem sensible to restrict freedom, I personally believe that we should give a chance to them.