Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food, clothes, and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions on matters affecting them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are mixed regarding whether or not children should be given the freedom of choices on daily issues as some people claim that they could grow up into selfish individuals. Personally, I am strongly of the opinion that it is necessary for children to have the liberty to make their own decisions.

Many support the view that when children have a total freedom to decide every aspects of their lives, they may fail to consider the feelings of the others. For instance, a child may insist that he could watch cartoon whenever he wants without caring about what other family members want to watch on TV. If his parents allow him to behave the same, he will definitely develop into a egotistic person. Therefore, it is essential for parents to set the limits of the freedom their children can have.

On the other hand, children who have been allowed to make their own choices will eventually develop a keen sense of responsibility. This can be best seen in the contrasting example of protective parents and permissive parents. Protective parents tend to smother their children with dictation and make the majority of their decisions for them. Over time, these kids will likely to become dependent on their parents. Later in life, these kids would not have developed any of practical skills due to their parents’ overprotective behaviours. On the contrary, with the permissive parenting style, children will need to consider a number of factors carefully and it will make them more responsible when it comes to issues that they would confront.

In conclusion, I believe that even though children should have the right to decide their own lives, parents ought to teach them to respect the feelings of others; otherwise, they may end up becoming self-centered.