Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions differ whether only the governments and huge businesses are responsible for tackling environmental issues or it is also each resident's duty. I am of strong belief that no one can shake off their responsibilities and everyone should take measures to remedy the problems.

It is undeniable that we have been confronting environment related issues for decades and the government and big companies are the ones that can make differences. First and foremost, the government and mass media can raise general public's awareness through their educational systems and advertisement, especially for children going to primary and secondary schools. Secondly, it is the governments’ duty to impose and enforce strict laws against environmentally harmful activities. Thirdly, large companies such as Google or Facebook can run eco-friendly advertisement or even start some environmentally-friendly campaigns worldwide.

Though the government can do more compared to one citizen if each of us takes action, the overall effects might be astonishing. One of the most crucial things we should do is to probably nurture our love to nature and gain knowledge about the detrimental impacts of our own actions when we damage the environment. Due to the fact that it is difficult to immediately forbidden us from consuming plastic products such as nylon or plastic wrap as they are commonly used in the past decades but instead of using disposable one, we can make attempts of getting bio-degradable or reusable materials. Nevertheless, plastic is not the only issue, households' toxic water is also adverse. By consuming water more efficiently, the water quality can improve significantly. Furthermore, it is not hard to use public transportation in lieu of private vehicles so that the amount of carbon footprint can be reduced.

To summarise, in my opinion, we can hold hands to make a better world only by our small actions and consciousness on the environment.