Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food clothes and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes Other people believe that it is important

Some people opine that parents should not allow their children to pick their own decisions about everyday matters as it will turn their children into egocentric people. Meanwhile, others believe that parents should permit them to choose their own choices because it will cause significant and positive effects to their children's growth. I agree with the latter that children should be allowed to pick their own choices on everyday matters.

On the one side, allowing children to choose their own choices can turn them into self-absorbed and egocentric people. This is because basically all humans have tendency to be egocentric. Children who have their own authority to decide by themselves will have potential to choose what is only beneficial for them, without considering others' feelings and interests, thus turning them into self-centered human being. However, these negative effects can be minimized if parents guide and monitor their children carefully when they make their own decisions.

On the other side, letting children to decide their everyday matters themselves will have significant and beneficial effects to children's growth, if they are carefully monitored by their parents. Positive traits such as maturity and independence will be learnt by children who choose their own options since they are young. This is because maturity and independence are not values that can be learnt overnight. Thus, children who are being trained to decide by themselves since young age will be able to make choices on more complex matters and not become too reliant with others when they have become adults.

In conclusion, I agree that letting children to choose their own choices about everyday matters will have significant and beneficial effects to children's growth such as maturity and independence traits, only if they are carefully monitored by their parents when making decisions. Otherwise, it will only cause negative impacts to children such as turning them into self-absorbed and egocentric people.