Some people believe that Art gives our lives meaning and purpose. Others believe that it is merely a distraction from real life.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Art these days and across the time was considered an integral part of the different societies. the art works has been started from a long time ago in the era of ignorance and it continued during the next centuries. It was taking a various types like poems and singing. In the past and these types was developed whether the shape of the art itself or by the appearance of new art shapes. But the question repeated permanently is the art considered a work should has meaning, goals and Message to the recipient or it is just a work for fun and joyful? And for finding a typical answer let us take a look on art in general and the art works.

By looking in the past, singing and poetry were the most common art works between the tribes. The poets were telling the poems for motivation to start an invasion or defending their nation. So, these works were having the importance among people in that time as it were influencing and motivating them for a certain direction. On the hand, these works could be as a kind of boasting between the people inside the same community or for sarcasm, these ways were for the intention for fun only.

In addition to singing and poems, the arts have taken a various kind in the last few decades and the most common were filming, theater, TV series. At the end of the sixties of the twentieth century, particularly in 1967 after the hard defeat of the Egyptian army, this embarrassing part of time in Egypt, the art was having the main role to show the hardness of the defeat and emerges the expression of the need of starting the war to get back the occupied territory. Thus, Egypt has a great victory in 1973, because of charging the society by art works, then recording this historic victory to the coming generations. Moreover, there were some works appeared to show the expression of the opponent to the peace agreement between the Egyptian President Sadat and Israel in Oslo.

Unlike what mentioned previously, with then entry of money in the art works and the unprovoked raise of the artists’ salaries, the aims of the producers who own these money were to gain profits only, so they are doing this works for distraction without looking if it has message or not?

Finally, the art is the most important work which can easily influence the society because it can reach people speedily and form their emotions and believes. Furthermore, getting people out of depression and life stress is some thing very important for the mental and psychological health. So that, I believe that we should balance between the main role of an art has a message and the role of being looking for entertainment.