some people believe that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minium legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

To tackle the road safety problems, we have taken a lot of measurements. For some people, the best approach is that raise the driving car and motorbike age. In my opinion, I partly disagree. It could be a practical solution, but we should cooperate with other measurements to gain the highest safety level.

Why increasing the minimum legal age is a priority method. First of all, it helps raise teenager’s awareness about attending the transportation system. Increasing the driving age will make young people take more time to learn about the traffic laws, and have a good preparation for getting a driving license which prevents them from a traffic violation in the future. For example, suppose we are allowed to use the car at 16. In that case, we will not mature enough to deal with neither the complexity of traffic signs nor dangerous situations that happen continuously on the road. It could lead to an adverse accident. Nevertheless, the age of car using raised from 16 to 21 would be a different story. The more mature we are, the more experiences we get.

However, only increasing the minimum legal age for driving is not a long-term solution. We should consider mixing it with others methods. Firstly, the government takes the public transportation system popular such as bus, to consider, which reduces the road accidents significantly. Secondly, each individual needs to have fundamental knowledge about road safety. This information could be taught in the schools by a traffic policeman and checked annually to maintain the in-depth understanding quality. Because of the learning process, young people will be fully equipped with knowledge about traffic. As a result, they participate in traffic safety.

In conclusion, raising the driving age is a short-term solution because of its benefits for enhancing road safety awareness among young people. To increase effectiveness, we should cooperate with the role of government and educational institutions.