Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To tackle the criminal problems, we have taken many methods, mostly putting them into prison. Some people have raised the question about the effectiveness of this punishment. They assume that education and training are beneficial. I agree with this view.

The government and authority consider sending the offender to prison, which is an effective method. Incarceration is not a sustainable solution. First of all, this sort of punishment is uneconomical. The cost which runs the securities and facilities system in each prison is higher annually. With the criminal rate increasing year by year, maintaining the money poured into the prison system is impossible for developing and third-world countries. Moreover, the offenders who have harsh sentences or life imprisonment are easily lead to resentful and unpleasantness. The physical disorder will make them tend detrimental to other prison and aggressive behavior, such as suicide or self-harm.

On the other hand, education and training are effective long-term solutions. Firstly, it is a chance for crime to rehabilitate. We could look at statics of recidivism rates to jump to the conclusion that prison has failed to deal with the criminal issues. The offenders have tended to commit crimes again after release from prison because of lack of knowledge to become a white-collar and essential skill to attend the blue color workforce. Since vocational training is essential, policymakers and practitioners should identify programs and strategies to help prisoners successfully reintegrate back into society. For example, we could run several worked-related skills coures that improve more opportunities for offenders to have lucrative jobs instead of a menial ones. Secondly, pedagogic substitution will teach first-time offenders and juvenile delinquents about morality and equip them with the ability to distinguish between right or wrong things. After prison release, they will follow the society standard studied in custody and become law-abiding citizens.

In conclusion, pedagogic substitution is a sustainable solution to deal with criminals. It shall help wrongdoers have the opportunity to make a new life, have a new start. If the government can have a mix-up system to cooperate the prison and education, it will create a better society.