In some countries, people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

Recently, a long-hour working culture has become a trend in the workplace in some countries. The causes of it often come from both the company side and the employee side. In my opinion, it is a negative tendency.

The development of long working hours is in charge of institutions and workers. Firstly, we have already known that the company's prosperity relies almost on the productivity of employees. As many working hours, they can take, as much valuation they can create. The company increases working hours to maintain the worker's productivity to keep the profit raise as high as possible. Secondly, the employees want to boost their career opportunities, which means they can promote to a higher level, gain lucrative salaries. Spending much time at work, they want to demonstrate their job sacrification the progressive attitude. The worker who willingly burns the midnight oil at work, the boss will consider for promotion.

However, it is an entirely adverse development. Employees who work extended work hours are likely to have detrimental physical problems and mental health effects. Working long hours can take a toll on our physical health. The lengthy periods of sedentary behavior will increase the risk of heart problems such as coronary heart diseases. Various well-conducted research has said employees who were sedentary for more than 13 hours a day were twice as likely to die prematurely as those inactive for 11.5 hours. Furthermore, a long-hour working culture has an adverse effect on our cognitive abilities; clearly, it is the cognitive impairment in young people. Secondly, workers who spend long hours at work are highly at risk of mental health deterioration. Excessive working hours may result in a problem with close relationships, which in turn may trigger depression.

To sum up, we both consider the motivation and disadvantages result which long working hours have created. The worker should consider work-life balance.