Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Many people argued that turning convicts into law-abiding citizens via education is more effective than sending them to prison. While I accept that prison can deter crime from reoffend, I would argue that education plays an important role in reforming inmates.

On the other hand, I believe that sending law breakers to prison reduce the high incidence of crime. For instance, people who commit crime have an abhorrence with wealthy people and regarded as the fear of society so that are tough on crime. In addition, harsh punishment like putting on probation or captital punishment act as a deterrent to would-be offenders who deprive the live of innocent citizens. Furthermore, juvenile crime pose a threat to the society, most of them are likely to involve in unlawful actions like drug trafficking to satisfy their basis needs or manage tuition fee. In addition, some of them become addicted to drugs. Therefore, sending them to prison in order to resolve psychological problems like drug abuse is compulsory.

On the other hand, it is a good idea to offer vocational and academic courses for inmates. First, i believe this trend can be positive in several ways. To illustrate, education allows them to turn over a new leaf especially people with low literacy or socially disadvantaged backgrounds. some vocational courses offered can help them to secure a job like boot polisher or machanic or academic courses like computer programming as well as linguistics. Moreover, a close rapport accompanying genuine sympathy can be built among people. Second, dealth penalty and corporal punishment are considered as imhumanne and the convicts don’t have a chance to reintegrate back into society or receive rehabilitation programs especially homicide, murder, sexual assault. Additionally, a crime record made it difficult to land a stable job and gain job prospect for minor crime like shop lifting or theft.

To sum up, I believe that reforming offenders via education is much more effective than another counterpart and should be adopted to make the society better.