Some people believe the best way to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental issues have always been a concern to us as humans, as they, directly and indirectly, affect our lives. Rising the expense of fuels for means of transportation is considered by some people to be the best method for tackling environmental problems. I, however, among those who disbelieve this is the best solution for such complicated matters.

Acknowledging that the increase in the cost of fuels can intimidate people into cutting down on using private vehicles, I reckon there are a few to no advantages of this method. Firstly, people have their daily needs of commuting such as for work, study or personal purposes, thus the frequency of their transportation would be the same no matter how high fuels cost. Secondly, under some circumstances, this method may encourage the use of public means of transportation, which reduces the number of private vehicles on the road. If this does happen, the environment is only partly beneficial from it since the causes of environmental problems are universal. They come from many factors among which exhausted fumes from vehicles are only the tip of an iceberg. There are more issues related to other types of pollution that should be taken into consideration.

One of the more feasible and effective solutions for these problems that should be concerned rather than the mentioned one, in my opinion, is minimising plastic garbage because of its excessive harm to the environment. In many nations nowadays, the treatments for this kind of trash are usually combustion or burial. Whilst the former creates toxic fumes leading to air pollution, the latter results in soil and water pollution when plastic breaks into microbes and cannot be naturally decomposed. What is more, a vast of plastic garbage is released into the sea and eaten by marine species, which severely damages them. Therefore, there should be regulations to reduce the manufacture and consumption of plastic products as well as recycle them. This can solve numerous environmental problems in relation to air, water and soil pollution, which is by far superior to the rise in the cost of fuels. Indeed, many countries have brought in laws for trash classification so that plastic trash can be treated and recycled. Moreover, many retail companies charge customers an extra fee for plastic bags to discourage them from neglectful plastic consumption.

In conclusion, although leveraging the expense of fuels for vehicles may bring merits, it is not the best answer for the question of how environmental matter can be solved.