Write an essay (at least 250 words) for the topic below:

One of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

You should spend 40 minutes on this task.

It is true that many people prefer to increase the cost of fuels to solve environmental problems. While nobody can deny the benefits of increasing the cost of fuels, I personally disagree with that view because other solutions, including using renewable energy and education would be more effective.

To begin with, there is one main reason why people think rising the price of fuels will solve pollution. When the price of fuels increases, it will encourage people to use public transport like buses and subways to save money. Also, there will be less private vehicles on the streets. Because of the decrease in the use of cars and other vehicles, there will be less exhaust fumes and less air pollution.

Apart from the practical advantage of increasing the cost of fuels expressed above, I believe that other measures would be more effective in solving pollution. Firstly, using renewable energy should be taken into account . For example, instead of using fossil-fuels vehicles, people should use electric cars because they use electricity to run. Another essential way that should be considered when solving environmental problems is educating people to save the surroundings/landscapes. The government should raise people’s awareness about the importance of landscape so everyone will be encouraged to save the environment.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that increasing the price of fuels for cars and other vehicles is not the most effective in solving environmental problems. In fact, using renewable energy and education are among the main solutions to pollution.