Write an essay (at least 250 words) for the topic below:

One of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

You should spend 40 minutes on this task.

Many people argue that increasing the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles will make a way out of environmental problems. Personally, I completely disagree with this view because there are many more solutions for this matter such as focusing the investment on public transports or encouraging people on riding bicycles.

To begin with, there are two main reasons why the rise in the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles is considered most likely to deal with environmental problems. One reason is that higher cost of fuels result in less using private cars or other vehicles which required fuels to function. For example, when running errands, instead of driving despite the close distance, people will then have to reconsider and choose to walk or public transports due to the high cost of fuels. Besides, the limited budget in transportation will face the high cost of fuels. Fuels play an important role in raw materials production so their increasing in price will lead to the decline in demand of those material productions owing to the shortage in budget as well as the reduction of transports appearing on the road.

Apart from the practical benefits expressed above, I believe that this solution will only temporarily sort our environmental issues in a year or two while there are some other methods which are more likely to be long-lasting. Firstly, the government should take more action in improving and expanding the public transport. This way will influence how people view the convenience and necessity of public transport and through time, this means of transport will be a part of everyone’s life, indispensable and inseparable. Another essential aspect that should be considered for solving environmental problems is spreading the use of bicycles. Rather than driving around the city causing pollution, people should be encouraged on making use of bicycles as the huge benefits they bring not only in keeping a green environment but also keeping us healthy.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that increasing the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles is not an effective way to protect the environment. In fact, investing in public transport and spreading the use of bicycles are among the main solution for environmental problems.