In contemporary times, traffic congestion is not only a burden but also a growing concern in every city all around the world. Therefore, some cities explore an alternative way of transportation system such as bicycles to reduce the pressure of vehicles on the road. Some people support this idea and others have a dissenting comment. In the following paragraphs, both views’ advantages and disadvantages will be discussed.

On the one hand, firstly, health advantages, in the city people do not have enough time to do exercise regularly, so cycling is a better medium of physical activity by which people can keep their body fit. Moreover, it can reduce traffic jams and suffer from people. For example, many European countries such as the Netherland government encourage people to use cycles in the city by advertising the health and environmental benefits and people also use these. Secondly, environmental benefits, if people use bicycle the less car will run in the road, as a result, the amount of pollution will decrease and fossil energy will be saved. In the long run, people will not suffer from serious environmental issues. But it has some limitations such as limiting the distance, people can not travel a long distance through cycling and not as fast as cars.

On the other hand, in recent times life goes so fastly by using motor vehicles people can travel a long distance within the shortest amount of time and comfortably. As a consequence, they can give more concentration and in their workplace. Though it can give us flexibility and comfort, it has several issues such as it is costlier than the bicycle, moreover, it pollutes the air, therefore, people have faced or suffered from various diseases like asthma. According to the WHO, every year 4. 2 million people died from air pollution.

In conclusion, to sum up all the points above, it is clear that cycling has numerous advantages from both a health and environmental perspective than automobiles. So, in my opinion, people in the city should use cycles for their daily travel.