Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Whether schoolchildren should be allowed to use phones at school or not remains a contentious topic. Both these schools of thought hold valid arguments. From my perspective, I genuinely believe that children's phone usage during school time needs to be prohibited. This essay will take both sides into consideration and pen down my verdict.

On the one hand, I opine that giving students permission to utilize mobile phones at educational institutions would exert overwhelmingly adverse impacts on their academic performance and social skills. Since mobile phones possess a host of attractive and addictive apps, students are more likely to be distracted from their studies. Take, League of Legends, for instance. Amusing as it is, it has attracted millions of gamers, mainly students, who even play this game in class. Consequently, they could be distracted from acquiring insights into knowledge and even fail in exams. Moreover, mobile phones can act as a deterrent to the friendship bond as some children are too addicted that they stick to their phones and refuse to talk to their friends. This would take a toll on their social skills, particularly communication skills.

On the other hand, I hold a strong belief that banning students' phone usage during the school day would do wonders for their scholastic achievements and soft skills. This can be derived from recent research recently conducted by the Ministry of Education and Training in Vietnam. This research indicated that among the Vietnamese schoolchildren who bring their own phones to school, approximately 85% of them spend more than 2 hours using their phones, which nearly halves school time. Therefore, should students be banned from using mobile phones at school, they would have more precious time to allocate to enhancing academic achievements and sharpening soft skills, thus attaining a well-rounded education.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned explanations, I concur that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day for the sake of their scholastic performance and social skills.