Some people believe that children should listen to and obey their parents. Others believe that children should think and do things on their own. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no escape from the fact that in recent years, the patterns of the relationship between parents and children have greatly diversified. Although parents prefer their children to be of full obedience, I would argue that those children who are given the opportunity to be on their own are more likely to become successful in their future life.

On one hand, children obeying their parents have some boons in its favor. Firstly, when listening to their parents, offspring would be able to make more thoughtful decisions and consequently, lower the possibility of putting themselves in deterrent situations. Secondly, if children show respect to their parent’s advises, not only there would be fewer conflicts between them and their parents, but also they would feel more enthusiastic about themselves as they seem to gain their parent’s endorsement. Finally, this approach would foster a sense of empathy among the members of a family which is going to bring about a more progressive society.

On the other hand, those children who are provided with an opportunity to think and decide on their own are more likely to develop an undepended personality. Learning from their mistakes, they would be equipped with a more well-rounded perspective on life. Possession of a thorough insight into life possibilities, therefore, would enhance their decision making abilities in arduous situations. Moreover, this approach would boost an offspring’s self-confidence and he would be less frustrated of expressing his ideas when grown up.

By way of conclusion, while children’s obedience would seem to lower the possibility of exposure to risky situations, I personally take the view that children should be allowed to stand on their own feet.