Some people believe that children should spend all of their free time with their families. Others believe that this is unnecessary or even negative. Discuss the possible arguments on both sides, and say which side you personally support.

There has been a lasting heated debate on whether it is more beneficial for children to devote the rest of their leisure time to be surrounded by their parents. From my perspectives, adults should try to keep the balance between the time that their children spend with their families and with their peers.

Apparently, parents are the ones to act as the role models, to convey essential moral and religious values, as well as to introduce and instill crucial ground rules into their children. As a result, the longer the time children spend with family adults, the more likely they are to follow suit, including themselves absorbing conventions and old-world experience, and forming personality of social criteria. Moreover, being surrounded by parents significantly alleviates the negative impact of peer pressure which usually drives the youth to the threat of bullying and delinquency due to envy among pupils in the context of academic races and background discriminations.

Meanwhile, most parents stand high chance of lacking standardized educating skills so as to properly soothe and appease the youngsters; consequently, adults sometimes run the risk of hurting children’s vulnerable emotions or ruining their excitement. Fortunately, child-minding or after-school childcare might possess the expertise to handle such circumstances. Likewise, communicating and cooperating with friends of the same generation without direct supervision from parents, can contribute to the establishment of certain skill set such as team working, relationship regulating and independent thinking. For instance, in order to get acquainted with one another, children have to learn to carry out small talks and to make changes in terms of activities with the view to matching the pace of the other.

To sum up, nobody can deny the benefit of devoting children’s time for bonding and receiving parental guidance. However, in lieu of being exclusively dedicated for adults, time should also be spent outside the family providing a safe environment and well-brought up peers.