As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the users should cover the costs. Discuss and give your opinion.

In the light of rising private vehicle ownership, it is claimed that state fundings should be aimed at improving road infrastructure. While the idea is valid to a certain extent, I stand the viewpoint that this out-going is of joint responsibility between governments and citizens.

It is interpretable why some people take the roll of the authority in settling roadway improvement bills alone for granted. One of the most apparent rationale is that the government fund can help ameliorate downgraded roads since the officials have the social orders on their hand. Having said that, this opinion is flawed; expenditure on road renovation is notorious for being astronomically expensive. Consequently, overspending capitals on road maintenance may lead to the dearth of funds for other public domains; for instance, cutback on education subsidies for impoverished students can result in the missout on potential talents and the risk of shortage in well-educated and highly motivated future workforce. Even worse, parents with harsh conditions who have to use up the rest of their savings to pay a remarkable amount of tuition fees, thereby, end up in poverty and sadden the economic burden.

In lieu of covering the costs of road upgrades only via government funding, individuals should share this financial pressure. Undoubtedly, it is their transportation that contributes directly to the tremendous acceleration of adverse social problems ranging from traffic congestion to pollution of the air, water and noise. These issues, thus, take their tolls straight on the city dwellers’ health; more precisely, respiratory diseases are among the major reasons for hospital visiting in the urban regardless of age. To this end, new road tolls should be introduced in tandem with levying higher taxes on car imports. Ultimately, the revenue earned from these policies can be devoted for rebuilding bridges and widening narrow roads, which materially mitigates the aforementioned traffic-related matters.

Overall, there are understandable points supporting the use of only government money in road amelioration; however, this should be a shared responsibility of both vehicle owners and the authorities.