Some people believe that children should study all subjects at school, while others think they should only study subjects they are good at or find interesting. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Whilst some people believe that children should only study subjects that they find interesting while skipping the other subjects , I believe that all subjects should be made compulsory for students at school.

To begin, the basic concepts of all the subjects are taught at high school. These basic concepts are necessary not only for academic purpose but also in day to day lives of any individual. For instance, a student interested in biology and going into the medical profession needs the basic concepts of math and chemistry to succeed in their profession as well. Another example is that, a high school history teacher will also need math in their every day lives for their finance management and basic finance tasks such as tax payment, interest or loan payment etc.

However, some people believe that making all the subjects mandatory at school level might be a waste of time and effort for the students. If students can only study the subjects they find interesting, they can put in their full concentration and effort into learn the subject. As a result, they can master the subject they find interesting. While, making them study other subjects will only divert their concentration and increase the frustration as they find those subjects boring and eventually will bring bad grades in those subjects which will lower their overall result.

To conlude, although students made to study all the major subjects in school might divert their concentration from the subject of their interest, I belive that no knowledge can ever go to waste. Students can use the basic concept of any subjects learned at school in any field of study or profession they get into.