Some people believe that a country will benefit greatly if its students study abroad. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions diverge on whether a country takes advantage of their students who study abroad. Although some fervently advocate this sentiment, I am at loggerheads owing to economic damages and brain drain.

Admittedly, there is a remarkable economic detriment for a country whose students are educated overseas. In this day and age, as well as tourism, education is considered a smokeless industry. This can be explained by the fact that international students, except for tuition expenditure, contribute to other local consumptions and become abundant part time labor resources to create a closed ecological system which redounds significantly to local economic development. Perceptibly, Singapore, Australia, The US-UK, for example, emerge as the ideal educated destinations, attracting millions of foreign students yearly and bringing back enormous benefits. Hence, countries whose students do not acquire the local education will simultaneously be deprived of a noticeable amount of money.

Further and even more prominently, brain drain, a haemorrhage of talent from the original home country, is another result of the move to abroad countries for education. Perceivably, most well- educated students after studying abroad have a bias towards living and working in the host countries where they will be offered highly remunerative salaries and myriad promotion opportunities. The brain drain leads to a disproportionate distribution of knowledge, promoting innovation and development in destination countries, while stripping ‘source’ countries of their best workers, and therefore hindering their progress. As a result, the more students studying abroad, the more qualified employees a country is supposed to lose.

By way of conclusion, from a country’s perspective, exporting individuals to foreign educational systems does more harm than good.