Some people believe that developments in the field of artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future. Others, by contrast, are worried that we are not prepared for a world in which computers are more intelligent than humans. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that whether positive or negative influences the expansion of artificial intelligence (AI) exerts on the lives of human beings is a subject of debate. While reasons can be given to justify the latter, the former is much more preferable.

On the one hand, there are reasonable grounds to think that machine intelligence creates some demerits of the world’s operation. First, artificial intelligence deprives humanity of critical thinking. It is an apparent fact that the more machines are applied, the less human beings strive to think and reason. As a result, people might take the computers for granted and become dependent upon machines. Second, machine intelligence is likely to reduce job opportunities for human due to its automatic systems. Artificial intelligence could replace the experience of people, and thus, considerably increase the unemployment rates. The job opportunities are anticipated to sharply plummet in the near future, including the jobs related to accounting, audit, or even law.

On the other hand, others would advocate that the ability of a digital computer to perform the tasks of intelligent beings results in more convenient lives for humanity. The first prominent justification is that artificial intelligence offers a multitude of innovations. It is acknowledged that machine learning, deep learnings, and other AI technologies bring about a huge amount of automation in manufacturing, which reduces human errors and inefficiency in different industries. Furthermore, without AI people have to participate in tedious tasks, including the dull duties in banking or finance, for instance. Needless to say, AI liberates humans and allows them to perform tasks in which they excel. This means that people would have more time to work on more creative and interpersonal aspects of their lives.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, although the world of artificial intelligence leads to the likelihood of computers’ manipulation, it seems to me that this technology significantly contributes to our lives in the long term.