Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring students' performance and should be replaced by continuous assessment.

Do you agree or dis agree with this view ?

In the recent years, many have begun to believe that the age – old method of taking examinations for the analysis of students' academic ability is not a proper manner and therefore they suggest that the method of continuous assessment should be introduced in

place of exams. Although, many may readily favour this, I firmly disagree to such an opinion. My position is argued further.

Out of all the reasons, the foremost one is that exams serve as an excellent feedback mechanism for the academicians. Exams have been a part and parcel of the education system since long. It is one of the most assured way to verify the students' mastery on the knowledge imparted. In addition, exams energies the students mentally. When there are exams, students

are motivated to learn, revise and understand topics which they would otherwise keep putting off.

Furthermore, exams groom students for further

because exams demand effective planning, time management and skill of presentation with clarity. This means exams make us learn life skills. To cap it all, they offer a chance to gain a qualification. This means these assessment criteria are stepping stones to methodical way of learning and thus, a good

professional future.

On the contrary, some people counter argue and claim in the favour of continuous assessment. To begin with, such a manner of assessment provide good learning in parts and help to indicate learning gaps to the learners. The students recognize their shortcomings in their understanding and know that re-learning and interaction for corrections is necessary. It actually enhances self-awareness for individual's strengths and weakness.

Thus, to conclude the discussion, it can be commented that though the method of continuous assessment enhances performance to a large extent, my arguments justify that exams are indeed a fair mechanism for analysing the students' ability to re-express their learning.