Some people believe that globalisation will eventually lead to a loss of cultural identity. What are your views on this?

The advent of new technological advancements in such areas as transportation or communication has been a major contributor to the spread of globalization which is feared by many to eventually bring an end to cultural identity. Nevertheless, I am convinced that not only will globalization help retain and improve local cultures, but it also will strengthen cultural bonds between distant communities.

One reason to support this idea is that through the process of globalization, people can realise how they are different from others in distant lands, which may lead to their interest in learning about other cultures. This means every culture will have to preserve and present its unique features such as local cuisine or craftsmanship in order to maintain foreign interest in itself and have something to offer in competition with other communities.

Another important point to justify this viewpoint is that as cultures in different parts of the world familiarise themselves with the ceremonies, food and clothes of other people, it is highly likely that they will begin to improve on their own, thus developing more efficient ways of life while retaining their original characteristics.

Last but not least, although some people might think that the aforementioned “trade” of cultural features can doom the unique identity of a culture, they need to consider that this will not necessarily result in local people abolishing their culture and fully embracing another. Instead, the communication and exchange involved in globalisation can improve understanding and tolerance in the international community, which certainly can help with the conservation of older cultures and their sense of identity.

To sum up, I think if the positive aspects of globalisation are considered and stressed, it is not likely to pose any threats to the cultural identity of local communities and will instead contribute to it in a variety of ways.