Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Today’s governments are intensifying efforts to mitigate pressing problems related to traffic. Some hold a belief that the pragmatic solution to curb traffic jams is to build more broad roads, whereas others argue that it is better to pour money into constructing train and underground railways. Although the former seems to have a positive effect on reducing traffic congestion, I firmly believe that the latter is a more practical method to tackle the issue effectively.

On the one hand, it can be clearly seen that building and expanding roads cost less money when compared with the construction of more train and subway tracks. This is because governments do not have to squander taxpayers’ money into the expenditure of railway infrastructure. Moreover, with mass production of vehicles, an increasing number of private transport must be the cause for massive congestion bottlenecks in some countries. This is the reason why road extension may be the key to alleviating traffic density in areas with inadequate road and highway facilities, especially at peak hours.

On the other hand, there is little question that constructing more railroads and underground tunnels would be a more effective measure to ease traffic congestion. The reason is that the expansion of railway and subway systems will certainly reduce tremendous pressure on transport infrastructure due to the reduction of traffic volume. As a result, this will help ease traffic flow, which will increase living standards of citizens. Moreover, in the long run, this approach will have a positive effect on the public perception of train and subway lines, which will lead to the increase in the amount of rapid transit. In the end, the decline in exhaust emissions of vehicles may lessen the effects of global warming.

In conclusion, while the building of widened streets seems to have some obvious advantages, I am sure that investing in expanding train and underground networks is a more pragmatic solution to the traffic jam problem.