Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, traffic jams are becoming one of the most serious problems in many countries. To reduce this, while it is believed that expanding and constructing more roads is the best solution, I agree with people who argue that the authorities should use the money for building train and subway systems.

On the one hand, there are some reasons to think that building more and wider roads can diminish traffic congestion. The first reason is that the road system is inadequate to cope with more and more vehicles. The more people travel to work by their own cars, the more roads need to be constructed to meet ones’ growing demand. The second reason is that cities are expanding and citizens have to commute further to work so there are more traffic jams. Therefore new and wider roads are necessary to help people get to their destination more easily.

On the other hand, I believe that building rail and subway networks is a more effective way to reduce traffic congestion. For example, when there are undergrounds and trains for people to travel to their destination, citizens are no need to drive to work; therefore, the traffic congestion can be considerably alleviated, and people can commute more quickly than by car. Besides, this solution is more practical since there is not enough space available to build new or widen roads in cities. Besides, building metro systems is proved to be very useful in many countries across the globe such as China, the USA, the UK, and so on.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that the better way to reduce traffic congestion for the government is to invest in constructing train and underground railway systems than in building more and wider roads.