The ever- increasing problem of traffic - congestion has become a great nuisance for authorities to overcome. Some have the opinion that by constructing more number of motorways and train ways, this issue can be tackled as traffic will be diverted to different paths. Others have the viewpoint of widening the existing roads so that traffic can be managed more efficiently.

Considering the former option of spreading new pathways, it will definitely assist in lowering the number of vehicles on a single lane by providing more options to the masses to reach at their destinations. A great network of roadways also symbolizes the development of a city. However, it will need governments to invest large chunk of budget on such huge projects and reserve more land to build roads.

Moving to the latter option, some opine that it would be difficult to find more and more land space for building new roads and construction in itself, is a cumbersome task. So, it would be better to resize the pathways which already circulate around the city or connect cities. It would largely save funds as well as labour to be involved in making new roads and these resources can be used in other projects initiated by the governments.

In my perspective, enlarging the existing roads would be more economical option if there is no major inconvenience involved in the process for common people. Moreover, I think a middle approach should be adopted, likewise, constructing flyovers over the roads which will solve the traffic problem to great extent.

In conclusion, governments should ask for public opinion and take any step of modifying the road system after having a favorable consent from majority of the common people. Besides this, these projects should be planned by considering long - term benefits in the future.