Some people believe that governments should make investment in building public libraries in every town, while others think it is a waste of money because we have access to information via Internet. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In this state-of-the-art century, all infomation can be searched in the Internet. However, whether should we read online or build more public libraries using governmental subsidies has caused heated debate. While acquiring knowledge or searching information through Internet really brings us numerous benefits, I would argue that we should also allocate to the maintenance of public libraries.

On the one hand, public usage of libraries is much lower than the past due to the development of digitization. With the development of computer technology, people can search the knowledge that they want to acquire via database or read e-books by electronic devices. Moreover, viewed from the angle of economics, funding public libraries is less important than subsidizing for other fields as most libraries are free to all. For instance, facilities in education and medical need to be constantly updated in order to improve studying and working efficiencies .

On the other hand, I strongly believe that the value of public libraries cannot be underestimated. Public libraries contain a wide range of materials available to readers. Apparently, not all the books can be digitized particularly those old books and a variety of audiovisual materials can also be borrowed for free. In addition, public libraries is helpful in connecting communities. People go to the libraries not only for reading but also communicating purposes. In particular, many individuals come there to exchange information, gain knowledge as well as skills. Thus, libraries’ existence is of necessity.

In conclusion, despite the convenience of computer technology, public libraries deserve protection and maintenance because they embody the cultural identity of a place. In modern era of digitization, we should think over how libraries can exist.