Some people believe that hobbies should be challenging to be enjoyable. What are the advantages and disadvantages of maintaining a challenging pastime?

Challenging hobbies like extreme sports or playing with complex puzzles interest people since they are rewarding and unusual. While that's true, those kinds of pastimes carry two faces. People can achieve high self-esteem and experience new things; however, they might get both mental and physical damage and feel reluctant to go back to their daily life.

When people do something difficult and gain success after a struggle, they feel confidence. Unlike daily routines, which are full of problems and failure people cannot deal with, there is a possibility of great success which is truly achievable only by people's efforts when doing a hobby. It might lead to sense of refreshment and help people to believe they are competent enough. Further to that, challenging hobbies provide new experiences encouraging people to escape from the real world. When thinking about the case of rock climbing as an example, people inevitably face a totally different environment from their boring and small office. There is no doubt it cannot only expand their mind but give satisfaction.

However, the same dispositions of challenging pastimes may work in negative ways in many cases. Though they are rewarding, it gives confidence only when people achieve success. Since they are challenging, there is a much higher possibility of failure, actually; continual failure might deteriorate the negative feelings such as depression and anguish from a normal life. Also, high risk of failure can be a more serious problem when it comes to severe injuries. Many people who enjoy extreme sports become disabled or even lose their lives every year. If the damage is not as severe as such cases, extreme hobbies may make people fatigued hindering them to relieve stress. Also they may make people reluctant to go back to their everyday lives. A higher level of excitement and stimulation from their uniqueness will overwhelm a main part of life: working.

IN conclusion, enjoying challenging hobbies has several advantages; people can get self-esteem and experience which are far from their routines. Despite these benefits, there are disadvantages of them such as damage and rejection to return to normal days. It should be remembered that those problems can be serious and sometimes weaken the benefits of challenging hobbies.