Some people believe that it is a good idea that older people continue to work if it is possible for them to do. Do you agree or disagree?

There are concerns regarding whether the elderly should be allowed to work after their retirement age or not. Some people believe this is good idea and I completely agree that this can bring advantages in both personal and societal scale.

On the one hand, older people should continue working because of financial stability and job satisfaction. Firstly, senior workers even with a pension scheme can struggle with covering their bills and other expenses without a stable job. For example, a retiree can have enough savings and money from their retirement plan to cover the basic needs of daily sustenance and their hobbies, but they also need to be conscious of the ever-rising medical costs and long-term care. Secondly, not allowing people to stick with their jobs can have profound consequences. Many mature workers feel depressed and anxious when they are forced to leave their usual jobs while they are still capable of contributing and being a productive member of society.

On the other hand, allowing older people to work can certainly benefit governments and organizations. One clear advantage is that old workers can bring lucrative profit to their company. As they are visionary and having experience in tackling various problems, senior people can pass their knowledge and skills onto younger employees, therefore saving expenses which in turn will need to spend on training courses and upskilling programs. Furthermore, governments can resolve practical issues by using the redundant population of senior employees. The pressure regarding the shortage of workers in different fields and the redistribution of retirement age can be alleviated by reemploying and retraining older people to work at their previous positions.

In conclusion, I believe that senior workers should be permitted to keep working if it is possible.