Some people believe that it is a good idea that older people continue to work if
it is possible for them to do. Do you agree or disagree?
Some people widely think that it is a good idea that older citizens work at their old
ages if it is available for them to do. In my point of view, I strongly agree with this
opinion.
On one hand, there are several reasons why elder people should continue to work if
they are able to do. Firstly, older people have more experience in this work, with
their knowledge and skills, they may finish work faster and effectively than the
young generations. Besides, older people can show and teach young people how to
do jobs more correctly and quickly. Therefore, this can lead to an increase in work
productivity, which is a good effect on the economy. Moreover, older people will
have extra income when they work at their old age. Thus, they can live
independently, do not be dependent on anyone, they can pay for things that they
enjoy, improve their living standard. Hence, this may make the country's GDP
increase, help the economy develop.
On the other hand, that the elder takes part in working at their old ages causes
many problems. The main reason why older citizens should enjoy their age
retirement is their health. Older people cannot be strong as young generations, they
can easily get into industrial accidents, which may be dangerous for their life. In
addition, the older may find it hard to get used to working with high technology
equipment. This brings about a negative effect on their work effectiveness.
In conclusion, although the elder continues to work may have many disadvantages
and problems, I still strongly believe that it is a good idea that older citizens should
work at their old ages if they can and want to do it.