Some people believe that young people know about international pop and movie stars but know very little about famous people from the history of their own country. Why is this? How can more interest be created in young people to gain more knowledge about their own famous people from history?

It is true that teenagers nowadays are interested in overseas music and celebrities than in exploring well-known individuals in the past of their own hometown. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and several solutions should be adopted to improve this situation.

There are two primary reasons why analyzing popular citizens in the past is less attractive than knowing about international pop and movie stars. The most noticeable one is that learning about famous people in history is considered to be a compulsory subject in school. This brings about history becomes naturally boring subject with too much knowledge. Indeed, young people feel like it is their duty, they have to do it whether they want to or not. In the interim, enjoying foreign music and celebs is regarded to be a hobby, a leisure activity. Moreover, the methods teachers use to convey knowledge of history to students are not attractive. In most schools in Vietnam, in history class, students do a sedentary activity is sitting and listening to the teacher reading the history book until the end of the class. In that way, students cannot remember that heavy knowledge with too many years and people. That is the reason why young people do not find examining famous people interesting.

Fortunately, several measures can be taken to prevent this issue. In reaction to the initial tendency, the most effective way to get to the root of the problem would be to improve the teaching methods. Teachers should combine the necessary knowledge with some entertainment activities which help students remember lessons all too well such as watching historical movies, Q&A games, etc. Besides that, having outdoor lessons is considered to be a great idea. It leads to a decline in the stress level of young people, helps students better at receiving lessons. For example, in grade eleven, I had an outdoor history class about writer Nguyen Trai, that trip helps me get lessons on not only historical knowledge but also soft skills.

In conclusion, it is clear that students losing interest in studying famous people in history is attributed to many factors, and steps need to be taken to address this problem.