Open plan office no walls, no barriers. Do the advantages outweigh the
disadvantages?
Nowadays, an open office with no walls and barriers becomes more and more
popular. In my point of view, this trend provides more benefits than its drawbacks.
On one hand, there are several advantages of this trend. Firstly, the disappearance
of walls and barriers will allow members to interact more with others. Therefore,
people will have more conservation, creating an ideal atmosphere to work. In addition,
members are able to discuss work comfortably to increase their productivity.
Another positive aspect that an open office offers is saving a lot of money. Companies
can entirely use that money, which is paid for building boundaries, for investing
in another project. Moreover, the design of an open plan office helps the director to
observe the whole workplace. Walls and limits have long been a stumbling block
for managers, stopping them from having a clear and complete view of the entire
workplace, causing them a great deal of difficulty in leading their teams. Thus,
with an open office, the supervisors have more control over their staff.
On the other hand, an open-plan office has some disadvantages. The main serious
weakness of this trend is the lack of privacy for people. Members do not have their
own spaces, some workers find it uncomfortable to work under the supervision of
other people. Hence, this may lead to decreasing their work productivity. The
second drawback of this open station is that workers can easily lose their
concentration. There are many things which distract people from their job such as
unwanted noises or conservation between other members.
In conclusion, an open plan station offers more plus points than downsides to the
both members and companies.