Some people believe that it is a good idea that older people continue to work if it is possible for them to do. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether continuing to hire older employees when they are over their retirement age or not is now a huge debate between a number of people. Some believe that we should not hire them anymore. However, I completely support the other view that elderly should be retained if it is possible for them to work.

Admittedly, there are valid reasons why the state should not retain old people anymore. Obviously, the majority of old people suffer from some common health issues that may hinder the execution of their work. For instance, old teachers with memory problems could not convey full information about the lesson to their students. As the result, students would lack knowledge and get bad marks. In addition, a huge number of young people would be unemployed if the state let old people continue their job. Therefore, young employees may compete with their predecessor to get the job and the job market could be competitive.

However, I still believe that there would be more advantages than drawbacks if the government allow older people to continue to work. To begin with, older people have longer experience than the young. Thereby, they could work faster and provide higher productivity to the company. Moreover, it is clear that training new workers needs a lot of time and money. If older people are retained, much money might be saved then companies could invest that amount of money in prospective projects.

In consequence, there are valid justifications for the view that the government should not let older people continue to work. I strongly believe retaining elderly would be a better idea.